Blowing through the jasmine in my mind

IMG_13987773(1)_1

“See the curtains hangin’ in the window, in the evenin’ on a Friday night.
A little light a-shinin’ through the window, lets me know everything is alright.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.”

Today is like bordering on Summer here in Philadelphia! And I love it! Often, I don’t even want to think of Summer in Winter! But today is a beautiful taste of the soothing Spring & Summer to come.

How lovely! 

IMG_14171623_1(2)

I have this song on my mind today! I love the images it inspires in my head.

Summer Breeze – Seals & Crofts – mobile

Summer Breeze – desktop

I see visions of green and floral beauty and sunny skies and fragrant air upon my skin! ❤ ❤

As I mentioned, my word for the one word challenge is Beauty. So today I made it a point to focus even more on the beauty of this lovely imitation of a sweet Summer day and take note of it by writing in my one word journal and writing about it here. 

I'm also celebrating at work with a sweet iced coffee!

IMG_14171664_1

Tomorrow, I hear it’s going back to below freezing! So I’ll be sure to soak up every bit of the warmth I can today! 

All last night & into the early morning (for a couple nights now), the next door neighbors were blasting music so loudly I heard and felt it vibrating through the walls as I was in bed reading then drifting off to sleep. I did not mind. I like hearing people awake in the night while I lay in my dark room in bed. I like hearing them talking, laughing, playing, music…

Some people think it’s a lot of nerve blasting music at that hour. And well I guess it is. But I was pleased to hear it as I was falling asleep. It’s not the kind of music I would ever listen to intentionally but that’s ok.

“See the paper layin’ in the sidewalk, a little music from the house next door.
So I walked on up to the doorstep, through the screen and across the floor.
Summer breeze, makes me feel fine, blowing through the jasmine in my mind.” 

These lyrics remind me of it. Lol

Here are five beautiful things I encountered today.

1.) a light, misty rain

2.) this shopping bag mixed in with all the bags we use for work. “Thank you” when said or felt genuinely, are very powerful words. What a great reminder to give thanks. 

IMG_14171657_1

3.) a sweet girl and her husband who came to my workplace for ice cream today. They were both so friendly and happy together. What a pleasant encounter! And to top it off, she was wearing lovely stiletto boots! 

4.) my phone is so full of photos, e-mails, and everything else. It’s in desperate need of a cleanse but I want to save a lot of photos before I delete them so I send them to my photobucket account first. One did not go through and a red circle showed up in my e-mail box next to the e-mail that did not go through. I can’t stand when that happens. It pisses me off. My e-mail box has thousands upon thousands of e-mails, mostly junk. But I like getting so many because there’s also inspiring messages and stuff that come through. But it can be hard to find certain e-mails I’m looking for in the midst of all that. I sent one of my pictures to photobucket then deleted it out of my phone then later decided I wanted the picture back on my phone to share here. Using my phone, it’s hard sometimes to save my pictures off of photobucket after I put them on. So I decided to look back through my sent e-mails to find the photo in my inbox when I sent it but since there’s hundreds and the e-mails aren’t named, it would be hard to find. But the ugly red circle indicating that my e-mail did not go through, helped me more quickly find the other e-mail I was searching for since I know it was close to that one in my inbox. So I just scanned my inbox quickly til I saw the ugly red circle then knew the e-mail I wanted was close. Turns out the ugly red circle isn’t so ugly after all! Lol I don’t know if any of this seems to make sense but basically something I was pissed at turned out to work in my favor! Yay!! When something that seems unpleasant doesn’t naturally work out in our favor, we can get creative and look for ways to use it to our advantage!

 
5.) for some reason this light rainy, warm day triggered pleasant memories of college. I was severely depressed back then, more often than not but along with my very painful memories I also have beautiful, very pleasant memories of those days. This day inspires a very pleasant memory of another rainy day in my first year of college. But that other day, it wasn’t Winter, it was early Fall, I think, or the end of Summer. And it wasn’t a light rain, it was a heavy thunderstorm and very dark. There is nothing significant about this day back in college. It wasn’t a holiday or anything out of the ordinary. It was my first semester ever in college. I remember I was sad and missing high school and all the people I knew in my old school but still happy to be in college and definitely happy about my experiences there. I had a Criminal Justice paper that had to be turned in that day and I waited til the last minute then my printer wouldn’t work! So I decided to go to campus hours early to work on it before class that day. I had to write it all over to print out. My dad drove me to campus that early morning while it was still dark out before going to his work. I loved the dark and rain and going to campus early. There were very few people there that early and while I often felt lonely back then being physically alone, that morning, I loved my own company. I loved the feeling of novelty. I was full of hope and curiosity about college even with my sadness and longing for high school. I loved my classes already. I was so young, only eighteen years old! Every rainy day now doesn’t inspire me to recall that day in college, most do not. But for some reason today inspired that pleasant memory. I’m so thankful! Savoring our memories and truly feeling them can inspire in us whatever emotion we felt back then. If you tap into your memory of your wedding day or the day you gave birth or your first day of college or moving into a new house, whatever pleasant experience you recall….really tune in, you can feel those same emotions ripple through you even if you haven’t felt them in so long. That’s a great technique for practicing gratitude, recalling old occasions we felt gratitude and truly allowing them to surface and flow through us. It can also bring a pang of sadness, longing, nostalgia of course but that’s ok! That’s beautiful too.  

😀

Thank you to every single person who reads, likes, “likes,” follows, shares…my content!! I deeply appreciate it always!! ❤ 😀

I hope you are having a beautiful day/night wherever you are and basking in all the beauty around & within whatever the weather is like. We can always bring our own sunshine & rain. ❤

Much love,

Xoxo Kim 

7 thoughts on “Blowing through the jasmine in my mind

    • I hope you are having a beautiful day today anyway, even with the frozenness! It can be hard finding beauty in situations we don’t care for. That’s how I feel about heatwaves in the Summer. It’s hard for me to see beauty in that. But the more we work at seeing beauty in general, the more beauty jumps out at us. I love the saying “Life is what we make it so let’s make it beautiful.” Thank you very much for reading my post & commenting! 😀

      • That’s a great attitude! I love meeting/knowing people who always find beauty. That’s how I am, I always find something beautiful no matter what the situation is but sometimes I can’t see anything beautiful in the situation itself (like usually the heatwaves I mentioned) but there’s always something else beautiful to focus on instead or a bright side. Like at least in a heatwave, my skin isn’t all cracked open because of the cold! I love Winter but yes it is very uncomfortable to be out in it sometimes, especially waiting for a bus! Then I try to think well at least it’s not a heatwave! Lol Like I said, there’s always a bright side or at least something else to focus on! 😀

      • Yes, exactly! We are plagued by ticks and mosquitoes in the warm months, so in winter I tell myself, ‘At least we are pest-free!’ There is always a silver lining, and one only needs practice in order to see it all the time.:-)

Leave a Reply

