Bloom. <3

AIR_20160310_00000

“A flower does not think of competing with the flower next to it….it just blooms.”

We all have a unique combination of things, gifts, experiences, abilities, goals, ways of doing things, loves, likes, dislikes, physical attributes, personality traits, mistakes, flaws, perfections, accomplishments, beauty, ugliness, wonder, brain/body chemistry, dna, memories….

It doesn’t make sense to try to have competitions with others and compare ourselves in negative ways. 

We all have our own histories, our own pace, our own ways…

Let’s bloom where we’re planted, work with and appreciate what we have and where we are, focus on our own life and context.

“Everyone is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.”

Forget what others are doing and wanting and what everyone else has and focus on our own aspirations and desires. There’s always going to be someone with more and with less, with more developed abilities, more accomplishments, more money, and those with less.

There’s always going to be someone who seems to have it all or seems to have accomplished things more quickly. 

But we each have our own pace and situations.

“If one is a greyhound, why try to look like a Pekingese?”

This is a beautiful reminder to blossom as our own self, just the way we are. The one next to us may have much more but it doesn’t make us inferior. We all are very similar in some ways and different in other ways. 

But no one can take the place of another. ❤

So let's just be us and bloom where we are while loving each other and encouraging others to do the same.

Much love & light, always! ❤

😀

Xoxo Kim 

11 thoughts on “Bloom. <3

  1. Great quotes and insights – words to live by.
    In keeping with being a music guy, though, there’s this: sometimes I read something, sometimes just a title, or see an image, and I think of a song. I did that pretty quickly with this, but, well, “Flower” by Liz Phair is a little blue, so I won’t try to find a video link here in the office…

    • Thank you for reading my post and sharing this with me! I love how you have a song for just about everything! I remember praising you for that before! It always makes me smile when I post something and you have a song that relates in some way, even if just with the title or something that isn’t direct but just vaguely relates.
      It’s a great skill to have! And one that seems to be very rare! I don’t know of anyone else (to my knowledge) who can do this and if there are others, they don’t share it with me like you do! Lol 😀
      I wonder what cognitive skills or mechanisms are involved here.
      I think it has to do with intelligence, memory, and creativity to connect things like this. It reminds me of a human cognition class I took in college. I wish I still had that textbook! It’s fascinating but I don’t remember the author or name of the book and I lost it.
      I don’t think I have ever heard this one but I will look it up!
      Thank you!! 😀

      • You’re very generous with your praise! Whatever skill it represents seems like one of those which feels so routine to the person with it that it is no skill at all. I know a guy who can remember amazing things – if he is told your birthday, and he knows you, he will remember it. Or amazingly in-depth trivia about the World Series, every year. It is completely routine to him. Keep on blooming, flower!

    • I tried posting this days ago but it wouldn’t go through. How annoying! Lol
      I have always had this strange and kind of creepy ability to remember people’s birthdays very well even people I met only once years ago and never saw again. This ability isn’t as strong as it used to be but still strong. It’s not intentional and not in a sweet, thoughtful way. Lol  I won’t always remember it’s the person’s birthday necessarily (although this did used to be the case more often than now) when it’s that day but if I’m asked, I can usually recall the date or I just remember out of nowhere if I see/hear the date sometimes . This is true even for people I met through blogs and online things like that years ago! I still remember the birthdays of some kids and teachers I knew in middle and elementary school who I haven’t seen or talked to in years and wasn’t even friends with or talked to much! I don’t have a good memory in general but this is one aspect of it that is great! It’s not that I’m particularly good at remembering dates or details in general, just birth dates. I usually keep this ability a secret because it seems kind of creepo. Lol Imagine meeting someone I hardly ever knew and haven’t seen in years or someone I only ever met once and mentioning that I remember that person’s birthday! It may 
      seem a bit disturbing.  There have been people I hardly know or see but heard years ago that it was the person’s birthday that day then years later it’s that day again and I see the person and remember but don’t mention it out of concern of coming off as a stalker or something! I remember people’s  birthdays better than their names! 
      I never thought of this as a special skill, just a creepy thing about me even though I’m not creepy (at least I hope not!)
      When I was a kid I did used to be very interested in when everyone’s birthday is(i think a lot of kids are though, I have had many occasions a kid I just met asks me when my b-day is), even people I did not know.  I don’t think it has anything to do with this strange ability though. 
      Thank you for your comment, encouragement, and for reading!! 

    • Aww thank you!! I’m so honored that you read and are inspired by my content! That means my number one goal has been achieved that day! My main goal is to touch at least one person for the better, each day!
      Thank you!! ❤ 😀

Leave a Reply

