Laundry, Earth Day and Meditation

This is simply beautiful! I love how you find so much beauty and pleasure in something that most seem to see as a chore or as now outdated. In my house, we don’t have a washer or dryer so we go to a laundromat but my sister doesn’t like her clothes to go in a dryer so my mom hangs hers out in the backyard. She sees it as a hassle though. Lol
It’s great that you keep up your sweet tradition in the face of all the changes and modern habits.
Many people just do what everyone else does just because it’s “the thing to do.”
I love the feelings of simplicity and bliss that your post provokes and how you incorporate a meditative practice into it. And these are beautiful photos!
Thank you for sharing! 😀 ❤

Eliza Waters

IMG_4356All my life, I’ve hung my laundry to dry on a clothesline when the temperature is 40F (4C) or higher. To some, it’s rather quaint and old-fashioned, but to me there is something reassuringly domestic about seeing clothes hung on a line, drying in the sun and flapping in the wind.

One can guess a bit about the people who live there; whether there are children or only adults, what they do for a living, maybe they dress finely or casually. It speaks of life in the current moment and fashion, a snapshot of their lives.

Pastels in Sunlight Pastels in Summer Sunlight

When I was small, my mother washed clothes for nine of us and all those clothes were hung on the clothesline to dry. Breezy weather was best of course, things dried quickly. In winter, the laundry came in freeze-dried, stiff as boards and had to be beaten into softness.

Over…

View original post 516 more words

Leave a Reply

