Hey Man (now you’re really livin’) {May Sunrise}

IMG_14173614_1

“Well, I just saw the sun rise over the hill
Never used to give me much of a thrill
But, hey man, now I’m really living”

This morning I fulfilled my goal of watching the sun rise and getting a picture at least one day. This is my goal for each month this year and I have succeeded up until now!

IMG_14173617_1

While I love early morning(there’s something so magical about it), I’m not an early bird. It takes a lot for me to haul my ass out of bed very early in the morning, especially at some ungodly hour like 5:00am!

IMG_14173619

I got myself up a couple of mornings just after 6:00am recently and missed the sunrise! It has been coming up around 5:30!

So today I was prepared and got myself up at 4:30 to watch out for it. It’s not always accurate online when it has the time for the sunrise. One night I checked to see and then got up earlier and it was coming up then, minutes before it was scheduled online. 

IMG_14173617

Today I succeeded! Yay!!

My goal isn’t just to snap a pic and then share and that’s it but to genuinely and mindfully appreciate the beauty and wisdom.

Each day the sun comes up, why keep missing it! It’s a gift to be alive, a gift to have the sun coming up, and a gift to be able to see it. 

Let’s take advantage of those sweet blessings! 

IMG_14173616

“Do you know what it’s like to fall on the floor
Cry your guts out ’til you got no more?
Hey man, now you’re really livin'”
“Do you know what it’s like to care too much?
‘Bout someone that you’re never gonna get to touch
Hey man, now you’re really living”

IMG_14173616

(I think this is the same picture as the one above it. lol I have a different one but can’t seem to find it. Also, the first two pics in this post have a photo effect I put on to blacken the edges a bit and blur them some.)

“Have you ever sat down in the fresh cut grass
And thought about the moment and when it will pass?
Hey man, now you’re really living”

I love this song by the Eels! It’s so uplifting and encourages us to live deeply, appreciating the pleasant and the unpleasant in life.

Check it out!:

Hey Man (now you’re really living) – Eels – mobile

Hey Man – desktop

AIR_20160529_00000(1)

(this one also has a photo effect)

I love how they mention both pleasurable and painful things and remind us that all of these situations allow us to truly live. 

How wonderful!  

And this one isn’t mine! But it is a stunning Philadelphia sunrise!

28592698

I hope you are having a beautiful day/night wherever in the world you are! It’s a beautiful warm, rainy night here in Philadelphia! 

❤ 😀

Xoxo Kim 

Leave a Reply

